ISPA Institute for the Study of Panspermia and Astroeconomics

About Us

Date of establishment: March 3, 2014

Headquarters: 1052-2 Iwade, Tarui Cho, Gifu Prefecture, Japan (Post code 503-2107)
Tokyo Liaison Office: Kita Aoyama 1-5-12-5F. Minato-Ku, Tokyo, Japan


Representative Trustee: Professor Takafumi Matsui

Dr. Matsui is an Emeritus Professor at the University of Tokyo and Director of the Planetary Exploration Research Center, Chiba Institute of Technology. He also serves as Distinguished Fellow at Tokyo Foundation and as Representative Trustee of ISPA.

After he obtained a PhD in Science from the University of Tokyo in 1970, he served as a Visiting Research Fellow at NASA and as Professor of Science at Tokyo University. He was subsequently engaged in various other activities before assuming his current positions. His publications include Chikyuu Shisutemu no Houkai (2007) (The Collapse of the Earth System) for which he was awarded the 61st Mainich Culture Publication Nature and Science Award. He has also published a number of papers in the prestigious Japanese journal, Nature. These contributions include “Impact-induced atmospheres and oceans on Earth and Venus (1986); Evolution of an impact-induced atmosphere and magma ocean on the accreting earth (1986) and “Why is a minor planet minor?” (1977).

Research interests: comparative planetology, astrobiology, earth system science, theory of civilization.




Trustee and Director of Research: Chandra Wickramasinghe

Chandra Wickramasinghe is Director of the Buckingham Centre for Astrobiology, University of Buckingham, UK; Honorary Professor, University of Buckingham; Visiting Professor, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka and Trustee and Director of Research of ISPA,

He was educated at the University of Ceylon and Cambridge University where he obtained his PhD and ScD degrees in Astrophysics.
Chandra Wickramasinghe is an expert on interstellar dust and the origins of life and is the main modern proponent of the ancient theory of Panspermia. He has made many important contributions in these fields, publishing over 350 papers in major scientific journals, over 75 in the journal Nature. In 1974 he first proposed the theory that dust in interstellar space and in comets was largely organic, a theory that has now been vindicated. Jointly with the late Sir Fred Hoyle he was awarded the International Dag Hammarskjold Gold Medal for Science in 1986. He was a UNDP Consultant and Advisor to the President of Sri Lanka in 1982-84, and played a key role in the setting up of the Institute of Fundamental Studies in Sri Lanka. In 1983/84 he was appointed the founder Director of the Institute of Fundamental Studies by President J.R. Jayawardene. In 1992 he was decorated by the President of Sri Lanka with the titular honour of Vidya Jyothi. He was awarded the International Sahabdeen Prize for Science in 1996. From 1973-2014 he has served as a Professor at University College Cardiff and later Cardiff University. From 2001-2011 he was Director of the Cardiff Centre for Astrobiology.



Executive Director and Trustee: Gensuke Tokoro

Gensuke Tokoro is an Economics graduate from Hitotsubashi University, a leading University for the study of Economics. He has over 40 years of experience as an entrepreneur in pharmaceuticals, plant and animal genetics and biologics.
His appointments have included Overseas Director of Pioneer Hi-Bred International (USA); CEO of Ghen Corporation, a principal Japanese based avian genetic company; CEO of Nippon Biologics, a vaccine company that was set up with Asahi Kasei. From 2009-2014, he held the post of Professor (by Special appointment) at the Institute of Hitotsubashi. He served as a Board Member of Nishimachi International School, Tokyo between 2007 and 2010. He is currently President & CEO of Kyoto Biopharma, Inc. which is a market leader, devoted to the development and discovery of drugs to treat infectious diseases. He is a Member of the Board of Trustees of IRRAD (Institute of Rural Research And Development) of Gurgaon, India and of ISPA (Institute for the Study of Panspermia and Astroeconomics). He is Honorary Chairman of the Hitotsubashi University Pharma and Medical Alumni Association.



Executive Officer of Administration: Tetsuaki Ogata

Secretary to the Representative Director: Katsue Sugita